Why Writing a Blog Post at 4:00 is Just Wrong

Sleep-deprivation. This brain = caffeine-free. The mission? To prove that I can write a coherent blog post without legal addictive stimulants and, oh yes, that thing called sleep. Took me a moment to come up with the right word, but I did, points me.

So, how do I prove that I am perfectly capable of not babbling on about nonsense that makes me laugh like a hyena (spelled on first go–booyah) in heat? I almost said dry heat, but you did not hear it from me. Oh, wait..

Coherency! That is my mission. Let me start again.

I am tired. I am bored. I am decaffeinated (shoot, took TWO tries on that one–I hate twos.) And I am out to write my second blog post for the week, because that is what I do. But at 4:00 am? I am sooo going to regret it when I open my browser in the morning. And by morning, I mean the real morning, when NORMAL people get up.

So, progress (distract them, throw them off the scent of your unawakefulness–DANG not a word–by throwing to-do lists and statistics at them. Yes, Precious. That will work just beautifully.) …

Revised the first 2.5 chapters of TWG (I would give the meaning of the inititals–coherent?–but I am fond of keeping people in the dark.) Things are progressing nicely, imho. Hopefully, with James Scott Bell’s help (love his books, btw–self-help for writers, wot wot) I will come out with a passable 1.5 draft…which then will still need to be sacrificed on the altars of something clever here.

Did I mention I’m caffeine-free?

Progress! THAT thing.

Short story is almost written for anthology (fingers crossed.)

Other short story for other anthology needs to be plotted and written before November 1.

And speaking of November…NANOWRIMO!!!!!! I haz a story. Well, novelette in mind, actually. 12k max, to be vague.

And now I really must off. Note that I did only minor editing as I went. The rest is full of sleep-deprived wonderfulness. Enjoy my incoherency…Shoot. Did it again….

Author: bethovermyer

Beth Overmyer wears several hats, all belonging to different writers. From fantastical kidlit to everyday popular fiction, Beth pens her work with gusto. In 2008, her screenplay The Method won best comedy at Gotham Screen’s contest, and in 2012, her MG book In a Pickle came out from MuseItUp Publishing.

Leave a Reply

