The Flu Before Christmas

This one is for an anonymous family member (feel better)!

Inspired by the poem by Clement C. Moore:

 

‘Twas the night sweats and shivers, and I felt like a louse;

Germ gremlins were crawling all over the house;

Tissues were strewn about without care;

All hoped that a doctor soon would be there;

The children were drugged up, stuffed up in their heads;

While dribbles of Nyquil ran down the lengths of their beds;

And mamma with her ‘kerchief, and I with my nightcap,

Had just hunkered down, if not for a dirt nap,

When out on the lawn their arose such a clatter,

I sprang from my bed…and lost control of my bladder.

Away to the window I flew like a flash,

Tripped over the curtains and ripped down the sash.

The feeling you get when your nose gets too cold?

I held up a tissue, and then I did blow.

Then what to my blood-shot eyes did appear,

But a miniature sleigh and eight tiny deer.

Actually, they were stars circling around my sore head,

But how’s I to know the difference? I should be in bed!

So here me exclaim as I drop out of sight:

Merry Christmas to all, and to all gesundheit!

Author: bethovermyer

Beth Overmyer wears several hats, all belonging to different writers. From fantastical kidlit to everyday popular fiction, Beth pens her work with gusto. In 2008, her screenplay The Method won best comedy at Gotham Screen’s contest, and in 2012, her MG book In a Pickle came out from MuseItUp Publishing.

Leave a Reply

