The Usual Cliche Horror Stories: Colds

Men and women supposedly react very differently when sick. I don’t like to sort people into groups, but this is what I’ve witnessed in my family:

Sick Dad: *feeble voice* i am so sick. i am dying. want me to cough for you?

Sick Sister: I will not get sick. I will sanitize ALL THE THINGS.

Sick Mom: I’m sick? Oh.

Me: I HATE ALL YOU PEOPLE! *curls up, growling* STAY AWAY!

Yes, I turn into a freakin’, raging LUNATIC. And guess how I’m doing right now? You guessed it: I’m a freakin’, raging LUNATIC. Achoo. Bless me…THEN LEAVE ME ALONE!

^^Okay, so I exaggerated maybe just a little (at least, with me.) If Rach or I get hurt, we’re EXACTLY that. I mean, you just stubbed your toe. The last thing you want to say is “I’m OK.” No,  I want to scream profanities. I am NOT OK. I am the polar OPPOSITE of OK, okay?

But when I’m sick? Right now I just want to curl up with a book. Sadly, life will not let me do that. I have to adult. I do not want to adult. *sobs*

Keep your pen on the page…and please pass the tissues,
Beth

Author: bethovermyer

Beth Overmyer wears several hats, all belonging to different writers. From fantastical kidlit to everyday popular fiction, Beth pens her work with gusto. In 2008, her screenplay The Method won best comedy at Gotham Screen’s contest, and in 2012, her MG book In a Pickle came out from MuseItUp Publishing.

Leave a Reply

