What Should I Call This Post?

Right now I am anxious. I hear a rattling in the near distance–dishes loosing their calls as they butt against each other on their watery way down. Now someone’s tapping plastic against plastic. And I can’t concentrate. In vain I stab at my keys–clack, clack, clack–punctuating the pauses. Coldplay blares. I wonder why I can’t have it all together. It is a cacophony of noise and emotion here, and I for one am unsettled.

^’scuse bad, purple writing.

I have published one book. I should be happy. But two heads are better than one. I want to have that feeling again. Something more tangible this time. Paper. I want paper. I’ve decided–at least, I think I have decided–to self-publish a novelty book. I wonder if that will fit the bill. I wonder.

And I can’t believe I’m sharing this. Complaining. I should be positive.

Don’t get me wrong: writing has been going better lately. But I have three finished (written and rewritten) books that need homes and I don’t know what to do with them. It kind of weighs on you. As Sylvia Plath said, “Nothing stinks more than unpublished writing.” …or something akin to that.

Do I shelve them? Forget about them? Maybe I should just put them down as experience and move on. Write. I need to write.

Okay, I’m done whining here. On a different note, next week I’ll be posting a short story of sorts 🙂 Just something fun, nothing fancy.

Keep your pen on the page,
Beth

Author: bethovermyer

Beth Overmyer wears several hats, all belonging to different writers. From fantastical kidlit to everyday popular fiction, Beth pens her work with gusto. In 2008, her screenplay The Method won best comedy at Gotham Screen’s contest, and in 2012, her MG book In a Pickle came out from MuseItUp Publishing.

2 thoughts on “What Should I Call This Post?”

  1. Dear Beth. You are a true writer. The struggle
    Shows this. So … with that… its okay. Your
    Self publish project i am confident will
    Flourish and will open new chapters and doors
    To your future as a writer ✒️📝😀 sincerely
    Your austen writer Ruthie

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

