Juggling Flaming Sticks

I’m still trying to figure out writing as a career. It’s one thing to do it as a hobby, but a totally different animal to try to make a living out of it (you may thank me now, fans of the obvious.) Not that I’m trying to make a living from it. Yet. Here are some of my thoughts…

WRITE MORE. PUBLISH MORE. REPEAT OFTEN.

It’s one thing to talk about writing. I need to actually produce.

  • Write fiction every day, whether I feel like it or not
  • Try different avenues (non-fiction, audio, and so forth)
  • Keep up with my craft (study, research, and talk to other writers)

PRESENCE ONLINE

Over the past few years, I’ve been slowly trying to establish an online presence. To be honest, I need to ramp that up a bit. Here are some things I’m considering:

  • Blogging oftener
  • Starting an e-newsletter (quarterly)
  • Commenting oftener and on more blogs
  • Following more blogs
  • Facebook-ing and Tweeting oftener and with more intentional posts
  • Researching what does and doesn’t work for online sales
  • Following more people on Twitter

Lady Catherine Says: 365 Tweets of Condescension goes into print this December (2017.) My editor is working on the last twenty pages, and I need to give my cover artist a nudge. That’s been on my mind, and it’s important. But I need to have a plan in advance for AFTER (and more before) the release if I want the book to sell. Here are some of my plans:

  • Book signings
  • Book reviewers
  • Ads on Jane Austen sites (partner with one to sell copies?)
  • Book launch (in person and online)
  • Book tour (?)

Then there’s the ideas on the back burners, percolating; the projects I’m writing; the projects I’m editing; and the projects I’m looking for a homes for. Lots going on in a very small kitchen.

Any advice for me? I’m all ears!

Keep your pen on the page,
Beth

Author: bethovermyer

Beth Overmyer wears several hats, all belonging to different writers. From fantastical kidlit to everyday popular fiction, Beth pens her work with gusto. In 2008, her screenplay The Method won best comedy at Gotham Screen’s contest, and in 2012, her MG book In a Pickle came out from MuseItUp Publishing.

2 thoughts on “Juggling Flaming Sticks”

Leave a Reply

